United’s number 1 claims Golden Glove award

United's number 1 claims Golden Glove award

United’s number 1 claims Golden Glove award as Mourinho’s men finish second

David De Gea has won the Premier Leagueโ€™s Golden Glove Award for the very first time in hisย entire career.

The award is given to the keeper with the most clean sheets at the end of the season. The award was first introduced in the 2004/05 campaign. Petr Cech had won it with an astounding 24 clean sheets. A record that still stands today.

The Manchester United stopper currently has 18th clean sheets to his name. Which is two more than Manchester Cityโ€™s Ederson.

“It feels good, it is my first Goldenย Glove award,” the 27-year-old told MUTV.

“I am really happy for that. It means we defended well in this league, I am happy for me and happy for the team.

“It is for everyone, it is a team award, not just for the goalkeeper. It’s good for me but I am also happy for the team.”

United's number 1 claims Golden Glove award

The Spaniard managed to keep a clean sheet for United in the last game of the league which featured a goalless draw against West Ham at the London Stadium on Thursday. United finished the league in second place with a total of 78 points from 37 games while West Ham are safe from relegation with 39 points.

The Reds drew a league game for the first time this year securing their place as runners-up to their rivals Manchester City.

United surely deserved their place in the top 3, however, following Cityโ€™s performance this season, Jose Mourinho certainly has work to do for the upcoming campaign.

Mourinho shows how much he values the hard work put in by his team by stating that the Golden Glove award represents far more than just the number of clean sheets.

“David has been terrific,” added Jose Mourinho.

“But the Golden Glove is about the team and not about somebody analysing the goalkeeper, and deciding this is the best goalkeeper of the Premier League.

“It is about clean sheets and they are about the team. Obviously, we are all very happy for David and it is a great team achievement.”

The award summarises another fine season for De Gea who was also included in the PFA team of the year as well as winning Unitedโ€™s Player of the Year award.

Premier League Golden Glove winners (and number of clean sheets)

2004/05: Petr Cech (Chelsea) – 24

2005/06: Pepe Reina (Liverpool) – 20

2006/07: Pepe Reina (Liverpool) – 19

2007/08: Pepe Reina (Liverpool) – 18

2008/09: Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United) – 21

2009/10: Petr Cech (Chelsea) – 17

2010/11: Joe Hart (Manchester City) – 18

2011/12: Joe Hart (Manchester City) – 17

2012/13: Joe Hart (Manchester City) – 18

2013/14: Petr Cech (Chelsea), Wojciech Szczesny (Arsenal) – 16

2014/15: Joe Hart (Manchester City) – 14

2015/16: Petr Cech (Arsenal) – 16

2016/17: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea) – 16

2017/18: David De Gea (Manchester United) – 18



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here