There are many great trophies in sports…but which one trophy do you think is the BEST?

Each trophy has its own history and prestige. We tried to choose the best and most representative trophies from each of the three most popular sports in the world. These are Football, Rugby and Tennis. We are aware however that this is a very subjective topic and all is based on opinion.




The FIFA World Cup

FIFA World Cup trophy.

The World Cup trophy, created by Italian artist Silvio Gazzaniga, is worth an estimated $20 million, according to USA Today.

First designed and crafted by Gazzaniga in 1974, the same cup is awarded to the World Cup-winning team every four years.

Standing about 14.5 inches tall, is made of 13.5 pounds of 18-carat gold. It resembles two athletes raising their arms up in victory while holding up the world. At the end of the World Cup final match, it is presented to the winning team. Each team gets its country name engraved on the trophy’s base.


The UEFA Champions League Trophy

UEFA Champions League trophy.

“It may not be an artistic masterpiece, but everybody in football is keen to get their hands on it.” That’s how the UEFA Champions League award is best described.

The current trophy is the fifth version of the current design. It was commissioned by UEFA GS Hans Bangerter after Real Madrid were allowed to keep the original in 1967.

The current UEFA Champions League cup stands 73.5cm tall and weighs 7.5kg. It was designed and made in Berne (near UEFA’s then headquarters) by Jürg Stadelmann.


The FIFA Women’s World Cup

FIFA Women’s World Cup trophy.

The trophy was designed by William Sawaya and hand-crafted by Milanese specialists Sawaya & Moroni in 1998. This corresponded with the start of the 1999 tournament. Standing at 47cm and weighing 4.6kg, captures the athleticism, dynamism and elegance of international women’s football.

It is fitted with a modern, cone-shaped base that reinforces the uplifting spirit of the design. The trophy is made of bronze gold-plated, polished aluminium and Verde Candeias Granite.

Engraved underneath its base are the names of each of the previous winners of the Women’s World Cup.




Webb Ellis Cup

Web Ellis Cup.

The Webb Ellis Cup is the trophy awarded to the winner of the Rugby World Cup. The Cup is named after William Webb Ellis, who is often credited as the inventor of rugby football. The trophy is silver-gilt and has been presented to the Rugby World Cup winner since the first competition in 1987.

It has been held three times by New Zealand, twice by Australia and South Africa, and once by England.

The 38-centimetre prize weighs 4.5 kg, is gilded silver and has two cast scroll handles. One handle bears the head of a satyr, the other the head of a nymph. On the front side, the words International Rugby Football Board are engraved.


Six Nations Champions Trophy

Six Nations Champions trophy.

The winners of the Six Nations are presented with the Championship Trophy. This was originally conceived by the Earl of Westmorland. The trophy was first presented to the winners of the 1993 championship, France. It is a sterling silver trophy, designed by James Brent-Ward.

It has 15 side panels representing the 15 members of the team and with three handles to represent three officials. The cup has a capacity of 3.75 litres – sufficient for five bottles of champagne. Within the mahogany base is a concealed drawer which contains six alternate finials.

A new cup was introduced for the 2015 Championship. The new cup was designed and crafted by Thomas Lyte silversmiths. It replaces the 1993 edition, which is being retired as it represented the nations that took part in the Five Nations Championship. Ireland were the last team to win the old edition, and coincidentally, the first team to win the new one.


Melrose Cup

Melrose Cup trophy.

The Melrose Cup is the main prize of the Rugby World Cup Sevens. The prestigious cup is named after the town of Melrose, Scotland, the birthplace of rugby sevens.

The trophy has been presented to the winner of the world cup since the inaugural tournament in 1993.

The only teams to have held the trophy are England, Wales, Fiji and current cup holders New Zealand. The winners of the first tournament was England.




Wimbledon trophy.

Made of silver gilt, the trophy is 18 inches high with a diameter of 7.5 inches. The All England Club presented the first Wimbledon cup in 1887. This replaced the previous Field Cup and the Challenge Cup – both won by William Renshaw.

The All England Club had to spend 100 guineas to purchase the trophy as they were not prepared to risk losing a third cup to a future three-time championship. From here on out, it was decided that the new one would never become the property of the winner.


Roland Garros

Roland Garros trophy.

The men’s singles trophy for the French Open held annually is called the Musketeers’ cup.

The Musketeers’ cup has been awarded to the winner of the men’s singles event since 1981. It pays tribute to the Four Musketeers of French tennis: Jean Borotra, Jacques Brugnon, Henri Cochet and René Lacoste.

A silver bowl bordered with vine leaves around the top and decorated with two swan-shaped handles, it is mounted on a marble base in which is inscribed the names of the winners since 1891.


US Open

US Open trophy.

The US Open Trophy is an elegant tribute to the history of the tournament, far more imposing as a prize than those from the other three majors.

Slightly taller and quite a bit wider from the edge of one handle to the other, the wide silver expanse across the front of the cup features some of the most famous names in tennis history.

Among the traditions associated with the tournament, the most revered is a trip for the champion around New York City. A picture on the closed observation deck of the Empire State Building is the highlight for many champions.


You may also like: The 10 Best Rugby World Cup Players ever RANKED

The 10 Best Rugby World Cup Players ever RANKED