Julian Alaphilippe wins Tour of Britain 2018

Everything you need to know about Tour of Britain 2018

The Tour of Britain is back for 2018. The race will run from September 2nd until September 9th. The finish line will be in London with stage eight being 77km long.

Tour of Britain 2018 Overall Winner: Julian Alaphilippe


2017 Tour of Britain winner

Victory of the 2017 race went to Lars Boom (LottoNL-Jumbo), though the win was almost taken from him by Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data) who attacked solo on the final stage.

2018 Stages



Stage one Sunday, September 2 Pembrey Country Park to Newport 175km
Stage two Monday, September 3 Cranbrook to Barnstaple 174km
Stage three Tuesday, September 4 Bristol to Bristol 125km
Stage four Wednesday, September 5 Nuneaton to Royal Leamington Spa 183km
Stage five Thursday, September 6 Cockermouth to Whinlatter Pass 14km (TTT)
Stage six Friday, September 7 Barrow-in-Furness to Whinlatter Pass 169km
Stage seven Saturday, September 8 West Bridgford to Mansfield 223km
Stage eight Sunday, September 9 The London Stage 77km


Andre Greipel

1Stage 1: Pembrey Country Park to Newport


Winner: Andre Greipel

Andre Greipel (Lotto–Soudal) beat Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-SCOTT) and Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step) to win the first stage of the Tour of Britain.

The stage was set up for a sprint finish after a 174.8km ride from Pembrey Country Park to Newport.

Cameron Meyer

2Stage 2: Cranbrook to Barnstaple


Winner: Cameron Meyer

Cameron Meyer (Mitchelton-Scott) won stage two of the 2018 Tour of Britain in an explosive finale that saw the breakaway narrowly hang on to the line in Barnstaple.


3Stage 3: Bristol to Bristol


Winner: Julian Alaphilippe

Alaphalippe won the third stage of the Tour of Britain on Tuesday after a bunch sprint at the end of the 128-kilometre course around Bristol. Kiwi Bevin took the leader’s green jersey thanks to six bonus seconds snatched on the finish line and Australia’s Cameron Meyer retained second place.


4Stage 4: Nuneaton to Royal Leamington Spa


Date: Wednesday, September 5

Winner: Andre Greipel

 2 victories in 4 days for Andre Greipel. The German completed the 183km route, which kicked off in Nuneaton, in a time of 4:22:04. EF-Drapac’s Sacha Modolo crossed the line in second place, with BMC’s Patrick Bevin in third.
Jumbo Lotto

5Stage 5: Cockermouth to Whinlatter Pass

14km (TTT)

Date: Thursday, September 6

Winner: Team Lotto NL-Jumbo – Primoz Roglic

LottoNL-Jumbo crossed the finish line at 19:36.7 granting them first place and their 30th victory as a team. There was also a shakeup up in the overall standings as Primoz Roglic claimed the leader’s jersey and Patrick Bevin slipped down to fourth.


Wout Poels

6Stage 6: Barrow-in-Furness to Whinlatter Pass


Date: Friday, September 7

Winner: Wout Poels – Team Sky

Dutchman Wout Poels has timed his late attack to perfection to win the sixth stage of the Tour of Britain, while Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe has taken the overall lead with a second-placed finish. Quick-Step Floors rider Alaphilippe, however, did enough to become the fifth leader in six days of racing after Primoz Roglic lost the green jersey on the day’s final climb. Poels moved up to second in the overall standings, 17 seconds behind Alaphilippe.


Ian Stannard

7Stage 7: West Bridgford to Mansfield 


Date: Saturday, September 8

Winner: Ian Stannard – Team Sky

Stannard battled clear of German Nils Politt in the final phase of the 215 kilometre ride from West Bridgford to Mansfield, recording his second career stage win at the event with a time of 4:56:27.

Quick-Step Floors rider Julian Alaphilippe retained his overall lead, and is the favourite to defend his green jersey over Sunday’s ceremonial final stage in London.


Caleb Ewan

8Stage 8:  The London Stage


Date: Sunday, September 9

Winner: Caleb Ewan – Mitchelton–Scott

France’s Julian Alaphilippe wrapped up overall victory in the Tour of Britain on Sunday as Australia’s Caleb Ewan won the final stage in London.

As expected, the 77-kilometre eighth and final stage finished in a bunch sprint, with Ewan winning ahead of Fernando Gaviria and Andre Greipel.


Tour of Britain 2018 Overall Winner: Julian Alaphilippe – Quick-Step Floors

9Stage eight result

1. Caleb Ewan (Aus/Mitchelton-Scott) 1hr 38mins 33secs

2. Fernando Gaviria (Col/Quick-Step Floors) Same time

3. Andre Greipel (Ger/Lotto-Soudal)

4. Andrea Pasqualon (Ita/Wanty-Groupe Gobert)

5. Ethan Hayter (GB/Great Britain)

10Overall standings

1. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra/Quick-Step Floors) 24hrs 47mins 25 secs

2. Wout Poels (Ned/Team Sky) +17secs

3. Primoz Roglic (Slo/LottoNL-Jumbo) +33 secs

4. Patrick Bevin (NZ/BMC Racing) +46 secs

5. Bob Jungels (Lux/Quick-Step Floors) +51 secs

Bike Emoji / Bicycle Emoji, Emoji One styleWORLD CHAMPIONSHIP Road Race Odds HERE*

Tour de France 2019 Odds *

*Odds are subject to change, so be sure to stay updated here. Be sure to place your predictions before the race begins!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here