Find all the latest Rugby World Cup 2019 details, preview, stats, odds and prediction here on

Fixture: England v South Africa

Venue: International Stadium, Yokohama

Date: Saturday, 2nd November 

Kick-off: 10:00 CET

Rugby World Cup odds

Referee: Jérôme Garcès will become the first Frenchman to referee a World Cup final when he takes charge of Saturday’s match between England and South Africa in Yokohama.

The reward for England and South Africa reaching their first Rugby World Cup finals for 12 years is a climb to one and two in the World Rugby Men’s Rankings respectively.

Rugby World Cup 2019 Final Stats: 

  • The England – South Africa final is a repeat of the 2007 Final in Paris, which South Africa won 15-6.
  • South Africa have won three of their four World Cup matches with England, winning twice at the 2007 World Cup in France, and back in the 1999 quarter-finals.
  • England’s only World Cup win over the Springbok came in the 2003 pool stages on their way to winning the World Cup.
  • No team has ever lost a World Cup game and then gone on to win the World Cup – South Africa lost their opening pool game to New Zealand.

Head to Head

  • England and South Africa have played 42 Test matches, with England winning 15; South Africa winning 25, and two draws.
  • England won their last meeting, 12-11 at Twickenham in November 2018.
  • Eddie Jones was part of the South African coaching team that beat England in the 2007 Final.
  • Eddie Jones lost his only World Cup Final as a head coach. His Australian team were beaten by England in the 2003 Final.


How England got to the final:

Semi-final: England 19-7 New Zealand

Quarter-final: England 40-16 Australia

Pool stages

September 22: England 35-3 Tonga

September 26: England 45-7 USA

October 5: England 39-10 Argentina

October 12: England v France – ABANDONED

New Zealand were looking to win their third successive Rugby World Cup but Steve Hansen’s men could not overcome England. England are the only northern hemisphere side to have won the tournament and have a chance to join Australia and South Africa on two World Cup victories.

England’s only World Cup win over the Springbok was in 2003 during the pool stages.

But not all the stats are in the Springboks’ favour. No team has ever lost a World Cup game and then won the World Cup – and South Africa lost their opening pool game to New Zealand.

South Africa

How South Africa got to the final: 

Semi-final: Wales 16-19 South Africa

Quarter-final: Japan 3-26 South Africa

Pool stages

September 21: New Zealand 23-13 South Africa

September 28: South Africa 57-3 Namibia

October 4: South Africa 49-3 Italy

October 8: South Africa 66-7 Canada

South Africa has returned to the second spot for the first time since August 2015 following their victory over Wales. 

South Africa have won three of their four previous World Cup matches with England. The Springboks won twice at the 2007 World Cup and once during in the 1999 quarter-finals.

Betting Odds & Prediction

There have been seven drop goals in the eight World Cup finals to date, while England attempted two during their semi-final win over New Zealand. Both England, in 2003, and South Africa, in 1995, won the World Cup with extra-time drop goals.

England head into this match as favourites after defeating the All Blacks convincingly. South Africa will need to up their game after an underwhelming display against Wales.  

By staying injury-free and with the extra intelligence, experience and the sly element Jones brings to England, we should expect to see captain Owen Farrell lifting the William Webb Ellis Trophy this year!

Rugby World Cup odds*

*Odds are subject to change. Find all the latest Rugby World Cup odds on

You may also like:

Rugby World Cup: the 6 biggest shock results