Richard Carapaz winner of the Giro d’Italia 2019


Richard Carapaz made history today as he became the first-ever Ecuadorian racer to be crowned champion at the Giro d’Italia.

The Movistar rider crossed the line in Verona at Sunday’s final time-trial with ease to finish ahead of Vincenzo Nibali by a minute and five seconds.

He had a lead of almost two minutes going into the Stage 21, a 17km stage, and comfortably held off his main general classification challengers.

The final stage in itself saw American Chad Haga at first place while Primoz Roglic replaced Mikel Landa on the podium in the overall standings behind Vincenzo Nibali.

Stage 21 results

1. Chad Haga (US/Sunweb) 22 mins 07 secs

2. Victor Campenaerts (Bel/Lotto-Soudal) +4 secs

3. Thomas De Gendt (Bel/Lotto-Soudal) +6 secs

4. Damiano Caruso (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) +9 secs

5. Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe/Groupama-FDJ) +11 secs

6. Josef Cerny (Cze/CCC) same time

7. Pello Bilbao (Spa/Astana) +17 secs

8. Mattia Cattaneo (Ita/Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec) +20 secs

9. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) +23 secs

10. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +26 secs




Overall standings

1. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Movistar) 90hrs 01mins 47secs

2. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) +1min 05secs

3. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +2mins 30secs

4. Mikel Landa (Spa/Movistar) +2mins 38secs

5. Bauke Mollema (Ned/Trek-Segafredo) +5mins 43secs

6. Rafal Majka (Pol/Bora-Hansgrohe) +6mins 56secs

7. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana) +7mins 26secs

8. Simon Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +7mins 49secs

9. Pavel Sivakov (Rus/Ineos) +8mins 56secs

10. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus/Katusha-Alpecin) +12mins 14secs


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here