City’s Pep Guardiola wins LMA award


Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola has been named LMA Manager of the Year after a record-breaking season

Having led City to a record-breaking season, the former Barcelona and Bayern Munich manager was seen to collect a Premier League Manager of the Season and LMA Manager of the Year double on Tuesday.

The League Managers Association (LMA) award is the most prestigious award in English football. It is voted for by fellow managers and the winner can come from any of the four professional leagues.

Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp, Burnley’s Sean Dyche, Wolves boss Nuno Espirito Santos, Cardiff manager Neil Warnock, and Accrington Stanley’s John Coleman were also on the shortlist for the award.

City's Pep Guardiola wins LMA award
Manchester City’s Spanish manager Pep Guardiola holds the Premier League trophy on the pitch with Manchester City players after the English Premier League football match between Manchester City and Huddersfield Town at the Etihad Stadium in Manchester, England, on May 6, 2018.

City won their third Premier League title on April 15 2018 after West Bromwich Albion emerged victorious over their rivals Manchester United.

Guardiola set a number of records this season following his efforts last year. These records included: most points (100), most away points (50), most points ahead of second (19), most wins (32), most away wins (16), most goals (106), best goal difference (+79), most consecutive victories (18), biggest share of away possession (82.13%), fewest minutes losing (153) and quickest team to score 100 goals (35 matches).

“All the other managers deserve this. They had an amazing season. You have to choose one, I was this one,” Guardiola said.

“We played good and we are happy for that. Of course, always I think the records are a consequence of our game, our consistency. To make these type of numbers you have to be solid for months, and not just a short period.

“I am at a fantastic club – it is a family. The organisation is excellent. I was at Barcelona and Bayern Munich. Manchester City – I feel at home.

City's Pep Guardiola wins LMA award
Pep Guardiola holding the LMA award last Tuesday

“The investment was so important and the quality of our players made the difference. When I was a little boy I always say England was a little bit like a paradise.

“Everybody wants to be here. I want to say thank you to the Premier League for giving me the opportunity to be here, to share with my family, living here in England.

“The last 10 years nobody has won back-to-back so that is the challenge.”

The LMA League One Manager Of The Year award went to Shrewsbury’s Paul Hurst, whose team finished third behind Blackburn and champions Wigan. The Shrews saw off Charlton to book their place in the play-off final at Wembley, where they will face either Scunthorpe or Rotherham on May 27.

John Coleman collected the League Two award after Accrington Stanley claimed the title with 93 points.

Chelsea manager Emma Hayes won the FA Women’s Super League award after leading her side to a league and cup double.

Can Guardiola repeat his achievements next season? Leave your comments below.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here