2019 British Grand Prix: Everything You Need to Know


Lewis Hamilton will bid to win a record sixth British Grand Prix this weekend as the famous race celebrates its 70th edition in the Formula One era.

Date: Sunday 14th July 2019
Time: 15:10 CET

Max Verstappen’s win for Red Bull in their home GP in Austria on 30 June ended Mercedes’s eight-race winning run.

Despite missing out on his seventh win of the season Mercedes ace Lewis Hamilton still leads the F1 drivers’ championship by 31 points from team-mate Valtteri Bottas.

In the constructors’ championship, Mercedes are top with 363 points while second-placed Ferrari have 228 and Red Bull have 169 in third.

British Grand Prix 2018

Winning driver: Sebastian Vettel

Winning car: Scuderia Ferrari

Lewis Hamilton’s early crash allowed championship leader Sebastian Vettel to extend his lead in the battle for the world title.

Last year Sebastian Vettel won the home race of rival Lewis Hamilton. The Ferrari driver had a 2.2 second gap ahead of the Mercedes driver, who was spun around at the start Kimi Raikkonen. Despite the ten-second penalty, the Finn finished in third place.

British Grand Prix 2019 Schedule

Friday 12th July

10:00 AM BST – Practice 1

2:00 PM BST – Practice 2

Saturday 13th July

11:00 AM BST – Practice 3

2:00 PM BST – Qualifying

Sunday 14th July

2:10 PM BST – Race

The Circuit

The Silverstone circuit is the location on Sunday for the tenth race of 2019, the British Grand Prix. Silverstone is a monument in motorsport history. The very first official Formula 1 world championship kicked off on this track in 1950.

The first British Grand Prix was held at Silverstone, but has been held at two other circuits, Brands Hatch and Aintree. Since 1987, only Silverstone has been raced at. The Silverstone circuit is located on a former airbase. The course is known for its fluid bend combinations such as Maggots, Becketts and Chapel. The super-fast Bridge bend has disappeared from the current layout. The drivers have had to turn right at Abbey instead of left for a few years, then get an arena section and return to the old circuit at Brooklands.

Silverstone Circuit

Circuit Location: Silverstone

Most Wins (Driver): Jim Clark/Alain Prost/Lewis Hamilton (5)

Most Wins (Constructor): Ferrari (16)

Lap Record: 1:30.621 (Lewis Hamilton, 2007)

Number of Racing Laps: 52

Track Length: 5,891 meters

F1 2019 Driver Standings – so far:

Rank Driver Points Wins Podiums
1 Lewis Hamilton 197 6 8
2 Valtteri Bottas 166 2 8
3 Max Verstappen 126 1 3
4 Sebastian Vettel 123 0 4
5 Charles Leclerc 105 0 4

Betting Odds*

British GP

Recommended British Grand Prix Odds*

*Odds are subject to change